Log in Register

Follow Nigella on: Facebook Twitter Vimeo Pinterest Instagram

Kitchen Queries

Welcome to Kitchen Queries, where the nigella.com team will answer your cooking or food related questions.  We’d love you to submit some of your recipe problems, dilemmas or queries for us to get our teeth into!

Submit your query

Please note, we are only able to answer questions selected for publication and aren't able to enter into personal correspondence.

Latest Queries

  • Vegetable Shortening in India

    I am a learner baker and am a very big fan of Nigella's. I never miss any of her shows on TV. I had a query about vegetable shortening which is mentioned in some cake recipes. I can't find any at cake supply stores. I also had a problem with the frosting that I made during the summer as it started melting badly. How can I substitute shortening? I am a vegetarian but don't mind eggs. Also I wanted to ask about marshmallows. Do you know what are they called in India and whether they are available at all?

    From the nigella team:

    Vegetable shortening is hydrogenated vegetable fat (vegetable oil that comes in a solid block and is usually white in colour). We understand that the brand Dalda is available in India, and some larger supermarkets may also have the American brand Crisco. Nigella doesn't normally use vegetable shortening in cakes and buttercream but prefers butter as it has a better flavour and you should be able to use butter as an alternative in most recipes.

    Shortening is often used in shortcrust pastry recipes, along with butter, as it helps to gives a flaky crust. But again you could just use all butter. For buttercreams temperature would be key, regardless of whether you are using shortening or butter. If it is too warm the buttercream will melt. In very hot weather you will probably need to make the buttercream, use it and refrigerate the frosted cakes very quickly.

    Marshmallows do go by the name of marshmallows in India but we understand that they can be difficult to find. Also most marshmallows are made with gelatine, which is derived from animals, so they are not suitable for vegetarians. If you can find marshmallows then you need to check that they are made with agar agar, or another vegetarian alternative. The related recipe link is for homemade traditional marshmallows.

Need some help in the kitchen?

Ask Nigella

Submit your query


Remember you can use the search bar to delve through our Kitchen Queries archives.