Hi, for the Gluten-Free Apple And Blackberry Pie is rice vinegar the same as rice wine vinegar used in Asian cooking? If not is there a substitute that would be suitable for this wonderful looking pie?
Nigella's Gluten-Free Apple And Blackberry Pie (from SIMPLY NIGELLA) has a tender pastry crust made from butter and gluten-free flour. The dough is bound with a combination of rice vinegar, sour cream and ice-cold water. The sour cream and vinegar make the dough slightly more flexible and easier to roll out and also help the crust to colour as it bakes.
Rice vinegar and rice wine vinegar are the same in terms of taste and use. To make vinegar you need alcohol present to ferment and give the vinegar its acid sharpness of a vinegar. Rice vinegar ferments rice into wine and then on into the vinegar. Rice wine vinegar ferments young rice wine from commercial sources into vinegar. But the end product is basically the same, a clear-coloured vinegar that is not too sharp. Rice vinegar is good for the pie dough as it is not too assertive in taste, but fresh lemon juice would be the best alternative.